Let’s Talk About Food, Friday

Food talk! Yay! Today, I’ll be reviewing another long-lasting chew: naturally shed Deer Antlers. These tasty treats can seem a bit pricey but last a very long time. They come in a variety of colours and sizes (mommy buys medium for me). Here’s what the one I’m currently working on looks like:

Overview

Insides.

Insides.

Review Time!

Taste: While these are not my “go to” version of treats, once I start gnawing on them I don’t stop! I can chew on these for a good 30 mins before I decide to put them down. Like I said in the Cow Hooves review, I’d prefer to chew on these when the day is winding down and it’s quiet time. Taste-wise I’d rate antlers 3.5 out of 5 Tail-wags!

Smell: If there are any hoomans with a super-sensitive nose out there, you are in luck! Antlers have minimal odour to no odour. Mommy had to put her nose right up to it in order to smell anything at all. I should also add, for any doggy friends who are enticed by strong odours, placing the antler in a food or treat bag for a day or two should do the trick! For this reason, I’ll give em 5 out of 5 Tail-wags for the smell (or lack of).

Durability: Again, like cow hooves, these things last forever! As a moderate chewer, it took me at least 2 months to finish my last one and I’m only on my second antler ever! I’m sure my bite is not as strong as others but I have not been able to bite off any large chunks that can sometimes be a choking hazard. Also, don’t forget to remind the hoomans to replace them whenever they get too small! For durability, I give Deer Antlers, 5 Tail-wags out of 5.

Overall Review from mommy:

We would give Deer Antlers an overall review of 4.5 Tail-wags out of 5. The only points lost would be on taste, as some dogs just don’t seem interested in them. However, these are a great safe and healthy option for dogs and for its durability, a great price. Depending on whether the antlers you receive are treated or not, it is always a good idea to pop them in the freezer to kill any bacteria or when not in use. Also available are Elk and Moose antlers but we have yet to try them. We would strongly recommend trying Deer Antlers.

C’mere you.

Nom.

Posted on May 17, 2013, in Let's Talk About Food, Fridays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

